Dalgleish Robert's Page Links Bill Cotgreave
Fife and Kinross - Fife and Kinross Part 2 - Historic Dunfermline
Part Two of the Tour
St. Andrews - Lauchars - Newport-on-Tay - Balmerino - Newburgh - Cupar - Auchtermuchty - Falkland - Milnathort - Kinross - Dunfermline.
www.standrewsfestival.co.uk/ - 2010 Information.
A town full of history with it's Castle, Cathedral Ruins, Scotland's oldest
St. Andrews the home of golf, 'The Royal and Ancient Golf Course'.
Ancient Castle -
The Ancient Castle, at on time the fortified home of its Bishops and Archbishops. Within its walls is the gloomy Bottle Dungeon, hollowed out of solid rock and outwith its walls is the subterranean passage, believed to have been mined when the Castle was besieged after the assassination of Cardinal Bethume.
Scotland's oldest University -
The history of the University goes back to the great days of the Cathedral.
The time of troubles with England, when Scottish scholars
were being cut off from the continent of Europe by the English blockade. Scotland's first University was founded at St. Andrews in 1411.
The Royal and
Ancient Golf Course-
Overlooking the first teeing ground is the Royal and Ancient Golf Club where the rules of the game as we know the today were first formulated. The rules were drawn up for the benefit of the Fifeshire gentleman who were the members of the club when it was founded in 1754.
Two of the street's in St. Andrews.
The St. Andrews Preservation Trust Museum on North Street, St Andrews and is well worth a visit.
St Andrews Museum
The burgh of Newport-on-Tay has been noted for 800 years for its ferry service, which came to an end with the completion of the Tay Road Bridge. The bridge was built between 1963 and 1966 when it was opened on the 18 August 1966 by H.M. the Queen Mother.
Fife Folk Museum
The Royal Burgh of Cupar
Cupar was the county town of Fife until 1974. Both the historical and geographical centre of the County, it received its first recorded Royal Charter in 1382 and since that time has played an important role in the affairs of the County. So, although it's of modest size, it has seen very prosperous days and it has the civic, commemorative and commercial buildings that prosperity permits. The street names in the centre of town also give clues to the town's history.
Cupar for several centuries has been the seat of justice and administration. In records that go back to 1239 reference may be found to the "fines of Fife" imposed in the courts of Cupar. It was Cupar's reputation as the place of justice that gave rise to the old Fife saying - "He wha will tae Cupar maun to Cupar gang."
Although lying inland in a valley between ranges of low hills. Cupar has been an ancient trading place for centuries.
The home of the world famous Accordionist, Jimmy Shand.
The ancient township of Falkland.
Falkland was created a Royal Burgh in the 15th century and was the favourite
residence of many Scottish Kings. James 2nd,
first conferred the title of Palace
to the royal residence in Falkland. It was much improved my his successors,
James 3rd and James 4th. James 5th died at Falkland and is believed
to have made a prophecy - "It cam wi' a lass and
it'll gang wi' a lass." He was referring to his
family's claim to the throne, which began through female line and appeared to
him likely to end with his daughter, born to the Queen only a few hours
before at the Palace of Linlithgow. The daughter, Mary occupied Falkland
Palace and it was visited several times by her son, James 4th, her grandson,
Charles 1st, and her great-grandson, Charles 2nd.
In the 19th century Falkland was a centre of the handloom weaving industry.
In the 19th century the Palace was painstakingly repaired by the Marquis of Bute and one of his family. Major Michael Crichton-Stuart, Keeper of the Palace, continues to maintain it and to made it available to the public, with the co-operation of the National Trust for Scotland. Still to be seen is the earliest tennis courts of Scotland an a magnificent 17th century Flemish tapestry in the Chapel. The Keeper of the Palace has a splendid collection of Royal portraits.
A modern Information Centre manned by willing staff and well-trained guides, will see to your needs. A guided tour of the Palace and gardens is a real delight for all.
Today Loch Leven is well known for the fishing (boat fishing only).
After Mary's marriage to Bothwell on 14th May 1567, the Lords once more decided to take up arms against her in protest. They met at Carberry Hill on 15th June but there was no confrontation. Instead, the Queen agreed to the Lords’ demands on condition that Bothwell be allowed to walk free. In return, they promised her that she would be reinstated as monarch. However, nothing of the sort happened. Bothwell escaped to Norway only to end his life in jail in Denmark, while Mary was led back to Edinburgh under the insults of the plebe and without being allowed even a change of clothes. They then took her to Lochleven where she stayed imprisoned for a year.
Lochleven Castle is situated on a very small island near Kinross. At the time, it was in the possession of William Douglas, son of Lady Agnes Douglas who was herself James, the Earl of Moray’s mother. Rejected mistress of James V who had preferred Mary’s mother, she could never come to terms with the fact that Mary was James V’s legitimate child and bearer of the Crown instead of her precious son James. She made life hell for Mary as soon as she arrived. However, Mary made a few friends there, including the youngest son, George Douglas who became so infatuated with her that he helped her escape. Before that though, Mary fell very ill again and had a miscarriage. She lost twins who were presumably Bothwell’s children and were buried on the island.
The Lords visited her there and under force and fear made her abdicate in favour of her son. On 2nd May 1568, after a first fruitless attempt, Mary escaped from the Castle and was met by Lord Seton on the other side. On 13th May, she gathered her troops and went to fight against her brother and the Lords. She was defeated and fled to Terregles Castle.
SUNSET ON LOCHLEVEN
NAME: ROBERT A. DALGLEISH
INTERESTS: Swimming, Walking, Member of The Institute of Advanced Motorists,
Music;- most from Jazz to Classical, Photography, Travel, Genealogy.
Back To Top